The 5 Love Languages: How To Receive And Express Love
4 minute
Read Time: 4 minute(s)

What are the 5 love languages?

Love languages are ways in which a person expresses their love in a relationship. Love languages pave the way for better communication, it makes you and your partner feel much more stable in the relationship, and it builds trust. Different people have different ways to express their love for each other in a romantic relationship, and so if one knows what their partner likes, it prevents potential misunderstandings and conflicts.

love language

Different types of love languages:

  • At present, we know of 5 major love languages with which people express and like to receive love and affection. They are words of affirmation, physical touch, quality time, acts of service, and receiving gifts. These languages can apply to non-romantic relationships too, but here we are only talking about romantic ones.

Let us go into further details regarding each one of these:

Words of affirmation:

This is the type of language that you express when you are validating your partner’s actions, with positive encouragement. For example, your partner cooked food for you, so you thank them because you got to relax and be provided with good quality home made food. Or, your partner cleaned the bathroom, so now you have a squeaky clean bathroom to use, so you thank them, and appreciate what they did for the home. Most people love to be appreciated for their hard work.

Words of affirmation

Physical touch:

This is the kind of love language expressed in the form of, you guessed correctly, touch. It could be holding hands, hugging, cuddling and/or kissing. Some people feel that affirming love via the above expressions, builds trust and faith towards their partner, and makes the relationship stronger. 

Physical touch

Quality time:

The third love language, that is very common in romantic relationships, is to spend quality time together. When a partner takes time out of their lives to spend it with their significant other, the latter feels loved, respected and cherished. Sometimes it is important to support your partner’s hobbies, extra curricular activity, and favorite pastime, if you want to display your love for them. This results in stronger and better relationships.

Quality time

Acts of service:

When it comes to acts of service, a person wants their partner’s declaration of love to follow up with action. Acts of service, as a love language, denotes a person doing something for their partner that lifts a heavy burden off of their shoulders. For example, it could be you facing a crisis at work, and you are the one who usually washes the dishes. But since you are exhausted, your partner, knowing that this is your love language, cleans up for you without being prompted or told. Isn’t that a lovely experience to have? This is especially true for women, who would appreciate their husbands to clean up after themselves and be prompt about keeping their home in a pristine condition.

Acts of service

Receiving gifts:

This love language is a very common one. Every human wants their partner to show a token of their appreciation in the form of gifts. Now, it doesn’t have to be an expensive one, it can be something they really love, like a book, or a movie they want to watch, or something they were eyeing at a store but didn’t buy. Your partner will love being appreciated in this manner, if that is their favorite love language.

Receiving gifts

In conclusion, wanting to be validated and appreciated are normal human emotions, and it’s not that love language has only these 5 types, it can be a combination of any of the 5. You should take it as a spectrum, not a category, as it’s a natural instinct to want to feel close to your partner. Honest communication and open discussion of what you prefer from the other, is a good way to start to understand your partner’s needs and wants, when it comes to love languages.

Suggested Reads:

Love, Laughs, and Learning: My Marriage Makeover Journey

Secure Attachment Strategies for Couples: Building a Stronger Bond in the New Year

Debunking 10 Common Relationship Myths

Enhancing Emotional Intelligence in Relationships: A Key to Deeper Connections